Prof. Prof. Raoulf Boutaba

University of Waterloo


Palestra: Dia 12/11/2014 das 15:00 às 16:30 – Sala H - 301


On Collaborative Intrusions Detection Networks

Abstract: Traditional intrusion detection systems (IDSs) in isolation and are not effective to detect unknown threats. An intrusion detection network (IDN) is a collaborative IDS network intended to overcome this weakness by allowing IDS peers to share detection knowledge and experience, and hence improve the overall accuracy of intrusion assessment. However, malicious insiders and free riders may compromise the efficiency of IDNs. In this talk, I will discuss the key requirements in designing a collaborative IDN system and particularly focus on four research problems, namely, trust management, collaborative intrusion decision, resource management, and collaborators selection. I will also discuss key metrics for the evaluation of such designs including as efficiency, robustness, scalability and incentive-compatibility.

Biography: Raouf Boutaba is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo. He is the founding Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management (2007-2010), and on the editorial board of several other journals. He served as the general or technical program chair for a number of international conferences. His research interests are in the areas of network and service management. He has published extensively in these areas and received several journal and conference Best Paper Awards such as the IEEE 2008 Fred W. Ellersick Prize Paper Award. He also received several other recognitions such as the Premier's Research Excellence Award, Industry research excellence Awards, fellowships of the Faculty of Mathematics, of the David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science and outstanding performance awards at the University of Waterloo. He has also received the IEEE Communications Society Hal Sobol Award and the IFIP Silver Core in 2007, the IEEE Communications Society Joe LociCero and the Dan Stokesbury awards in 2009, and the IEEE Communications Society Salah Aidarous award in 2012. He served as a distinguished lecturer for the IEEE Computer and Communications Societies. He is fellow of the IEEE and fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada and a recipient of the 2014 McNaugthon Gold Medal.